Discover Qazaqstan via News and Inspiring Stories
QazMonitor Logo
Facebook Qazmonitor iconInstagram Qazmonitor iconTiktok Qazmonitor iconTwitter Qazmonitor iconTelegram Qazmonitor iconYoutube Qazmonitor icon
  1. Main Page
  2. Travel
  3. What Countries Have Visa-Free Regime With Kazakhstan in 2022?
  1. News
  2. Travel
Astana, Kazakhstan • 15 November, 2022 | 09:14
2 min read

What Countries Have Visa-Free Regime With Kazakhstan in 2022?

Everything you need to know about trips to and from Kazakhstan

QazMonitor Logo

If you are a foreigner visiting Kazakhstan as a tourist, or a Kazakhstani planning your holiday trip to another country, this article is for you. 

QazMonitor presents you with a list of countries which have visa-free regimes with Kazakhstan. This article is continuously updated, and the current version is based on the publication by the Committee of migration service of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, as of July 8.

Countries whose citizens can visit Kazakhstan visa-free for up to 30 days

Currently the list includes 54 countries: Australia, Austria, Bahrein, Belgium, Bulgaria, Vatican, the United Kingdom, Hungary, Vietnam, Germany, Greece, Denmark, Israel, Indonesia, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Qatar, Cyprus, Colombia, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, the United States, Thailand, Philippines,  Finland, Croatia, France, the Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia, and Japan.

The visa-free regime is applicable to business trips, tourism, and private visits. Visitors can stay in Kazakhstan for up to 30 days, but cannot exceed 90 days within a 180-day period. 

This regime also prohibits working in Kazakhstan.

Countries whose citizens can visit Kazakhstan visa-free for up to 14 days

As of July 2022, the list includes only 3 countries: India, Iran, and China. 

Citizens of these countries can visit Kazakhstan for 14, but no more than 42 days within every 180 days. The visa-free regime is applicable to business trips, tourism, and private visits, but prohibits working in Kazakhstan.

Important information for foreign travelers to Kazakhstan

The hosting party has to notify the migration service of your arrival in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

This must be done within 3 working days from the date of arrival of the foreigner.

Notification can be submitted:

  • in paper form to the department of the Migration Service

  • online through the visa and migration portal

For the citizens of the countries not listed in this article, we recommend to consult with the MFA of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Countries Kazakhstan has mutual visa-free regime with

The Committee of migration service lists 19 countries that Kazakhstan has mutual visa-free regime with:

  • for up to 90 days: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, the Kyrgyz Republic, Moldova, Russia, Colombia (but only 30 days for Colombian citizens coming to Kazakhstan), Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine (within every 180 days), and Mongolia

  • for up to 30 days: Argentina, Brazil, South Korea (no more than 60 days within every 180 days), the UAE, Serbia, Turkey, Ecuador (within every 180 days)  

  • for up to 14 days: Hong Kong 

For most countries from this list, however, the stay can vary if determined so by visa.

Also, in Armenia, Belarus, the Kyrgyz Republic, and Russia, the stay period can be determined by a labor contract.

In turn, in Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, the term of a temporary residence permit can dictate how long a Kazakhstani can stay in the country.

For Kazakh citizens aiming to go abroad, we also recommend looking at the list published on MFA website, as some non-mutual destinations are available, such as Maldives (the MFA list was last updated on April 12, 2022). 

Similar articles:

Only 30% of an article published on The Qazaqstan Monitor website may be used with a mandatory hyperlink provided to indicate the original source. To re-publish the full article, written permission from the editorial is required.