Discover Qazaqstan via News and Inspiring Stories
QazMonitor Logo
Facebook Qazmonitor iconInstagram Qazmonitor iconTiktok Qazmonitor iconTwitter Qazmonitor iconTelegram Qazmonitor iconYoutube Qazmonitor icon
  1. Main Page
  2. News
  3. Central Asian States Seek UNESCO Recognition for 6 More Heritage Sites
Astana, Kazakhstan • 25 May, 2023 | 16:09

Central Asian States Seek UNESCO Recognition for 6 More Heritage Sites

Along with their colleagues, the Kazakh culture ministry intends to highlight the significance of ancient Silk Road settlements

QazMonitor Logo

Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan are planning to advocate for the recognition of six additional historical sites on the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage List, QazMonitor reports.

Askhat Oralov, the minister of culture and sport, said in a Telegram post that our country currently possesses ten historical sites that have been recognized by the organization.

"By 2025, we aim to increase the number of such sites to 16. Together with the Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, we are actively working on the preparation of the 'Silk Roads: Fergana-Syrdarya Corridor' transnational serial nomination," said Oralov.

This initiative seeks to highlight the cultural significance of six ancient sites situated along the historic Silk Road trade route, including Syganak (Sighnaq), Sauran, Yassy, Otyrar (Otrar), Zhankent, and Zhetyasar.

The culture ministry intends to continue its efforts in revising the National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage. Their plans include increasing the number of historical relics and sites representing our rich culture and history in the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity to a total of 20 items.

Only 30% of an article published on The Qazaqstan Monitor website may be used with a mandatory hyperlink provided to indicate the original source. To re-publish the full article, written permission from the editorial is required.