Discover Qazaqstan via News and Inspiring Stories
QazMonitor Logo
Facebook Qazmonitor iconInstagram Qazmonitor iconTiktok Qazmonitor iconTwitter Qazmonitor iconTelegram Qazmonitor iconYoutube Qazmonitor iconRSS
  1. Main Page
  2. News
  3. 4 New Ministers Appointed in Kazakh Government Reshuffle
Astana, Kazakhstan • 09 February, 2024 | 11:20
1 min read

4 New Ministers Appointed in Kazakh Government Reshuffle

On February 6, President Tokayev signed decrees forming a new cabinet of ministers

QazMonitor Logo

Kazakhstan's new government, led by Prime Minister Olzhas Bektenov, has been officially formed. On February 6, 2024, President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev signed decrees appointing the Prime Minister and members of the Cabinet of Ministers, QazMonitor reports.

In addition to Bektenov’s appointment, four new ministers joined the updated composition of the Kazakh government. Akmaral Alnazarova now heads the Ministry of Health, succeeding Azhar Giniyat. Chingis Arinov replaces Syrym Sharipkhanov as Minister of Emergency Situations. Madi Takiev assumes the position of Minister of Finance, succeeding Erulan Zhamaubaev, who has held the post since May 2020. Additionally, Nurlan Baibazarov has been appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Economy, as Alibek Kuantyrov has been relieved of the role.

Overall, twenty-one members of the government have retained their positions.

The government of Kazakhstan includes:

  • Prime Minister: Olzhas Bektenov 

  • First Deputy Prime Minister: Roman Sklyar 

  • Deputy Prime Minister, Chief of Staff of the Government: Galymzhan Koishybaev

  • Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs: Murat Nurtleu

  • Deputy Prime Minister: Serik Zhumangarin

  • Deputy Prime Minister: Tamara Duisenova

  • Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of National Economy: Nurlan Baibazarov

  • Minister of Defense: Ruslan Zhaksylykov 

  • Minister of Internal Affairs: Yerzhan Sadenov

  • Minister of Agriculture: Aidarbek Saparov

  • Minister of Justice: Azamat Eskaraev

  • Minister of Science and Higher Education: Nurbek Sayasat

  • Minister of Health: Akmaral Alnazarova

  • Minister of Labor and Social Protection: Svetlana Zhakupova

  • Minister of Transport: Marat Karabayev

  • Minister of Culture and Information: Aida Balayeva

  • Minister of Education: Gani Beisembayev

  • Minister of Industry and Construction: Kanat Sharlapaev

  • Minister of Trade and Integration: Arman Shakkaliev

  • Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation: Nurzhan Nurzhigitov

  • Minister of Emergency Situations: Chingis Arinov

  • Minister of Tourism and Sports: Yermek Marzhikpayev

  • Minister of Digital Development, Innovation, and Aerospace Industry: Bagdat Mussin

  • Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources: Yerlan Nysanbayev

  • Minister of Energy: Almasadam Satkaliyev

  • Minister of Finance: Madi Takiev

Collage by QazMonitor
Collage by QazMonitor

During the plenary session of the Majilis on February 6, deputies reached a consensus on the candidacy of Olzhas Bektenov for the post of Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan (69 "in favor", 7 abstained). Following the Majilis' agreement, the President signed the corresponding decree.

On February 5, 2024, the Head of State accepted the resignation of the Cabinet of Ministers. Former Prime Minister Alikhan Smailov led the government since January 11, 2022.

Only 30% of an article published on The Qazaqstan Monitor website may be used with a mandatory hyperlink provided to indicate the original source. To re-publish the full article, written permission from the editorial is required.